Explore information related to rsync set permissions

Preserve Permissions in rsync

This article will guide you on how to use rsync to preserve permissions. 

Rsync, or Remote #Sync, is a free command-line tool that lets you transfer files and directories to local and remote destinations. #Rsync is used for mirroring, performing backups, or migrating data to other servers.

a = archive - means it preserves #permissions (owners, groups), times, symbolic links, and devices. Use of "/" at the end of path: When using "/" at the end of source, rsync will copy the content of the last folder.

To preserve permissions when files and folders are copied or moved, use the Xcopy.exe utility with the /O or the /X switch. 

The object's original permissions will be added to inheritable permissions in the new location.

To make rsync to preserve timestamps:

1. To overcome this, there is another option that you can specify in the rsync command that will preserve the timestamps during the synchronization process. 

2. Without preserving the timestamp, the files will display the modification date and time as the time that the rsync command was run.

Read More